Forum Home  »  Hangin' Out  »  The Ups   »  NYC
NYC

Nina
Posted: 3/13/2017 2:09:24 PM     
I get to go to NYC in a couple weeks with my boyfriend! I'm so excited! It's my first time!
I would love some recommendations of things to see and do! I have a few tourist traps in mind, but I absolutely love hidden gems, so toss 'em at me!

We will be staying in Manhattan, so please no suggestions for queens/bronx/brooklyn.
Also, I"m a curvy plus size princess. So while I appreciate suggestions for clothing stores, please only ones that cater to larger body shapes?

Thanks all!

Leo (Southgate)
Posted: 3/13/2017 6:29:24 PM     
If shows / theater are your thing even in the slightness, there's a group that does improv shows ,,, but they sing! They have a pianist that just plays jaunty tunes and the performers make up songs as they go along, as well as tell stories and act but they're always funny and they're all so talented! We saw them when I was there with my schools drama department in November, and they're called the Rumpleteasers; they're a UCB group, and I'm sure there are lists for shows for their groups and stuff on their website.

As well, I'm not sure if this is a tourist trap or not but the High Line is so beautiful, it's a raised walkway above the streets and cuts through Chelsea and the Meat District.

Along the same lines, there's the Chelsea Market, and they don't actually allow tour / school groups in (we snuck in mwahaha) so it won't be overly crowded, but it's like an indoor strip mall with really really good restaurants, shops, bookstores, cafes, the whole deal! There isn't a lot of sapce to sit though, so if you're going for lunch/plan to grab food (and not go into and get seated at a restaurant), then you should browse first and eat second.

I hope you have a rockin' trip! Hope I could help :-)

Nina
Posted: 3/14/2017 9:24:35 AM